If you were injured in a car accident in Colorado, one of the first things you must do is seek medical help, even if you feel okay. A considerable number of auto accident cases are reported in the state, and not every victim of rash driving or speeding gets due compensation. Working with an experienced Pueblo car accident lawyer can be useful, but before getting started, here are some things worth knowing about car accidents rules in Colorado.
Knowing the statute of limitations
Every state has a statute of limitations, including Colorado. You have a time of 3 years from the date of your car accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. If the lawsuit is related to property damage, the time limit is two years. However, this doesn’t apply to insurance claims. Whether you are informing your insurance company or the insurer of the party at fault, this should be done within a reasonable time.
Colorado laws worth knowing
- Colorado follows the comparative fault rule, which means that if a party is partly responsible for the accident, they will lose a part of the due compensation that is their fault.
- There is also a limit of non-economic damages that one can seek. This amount is $468,010.
- You have the choice to file a personal injury lawsuit or ask for compensation from the insurance company of the party at-fault.
Talk to a personal injury attorney
There are many law firms in Pueblo and rest of Colorado that specialize in car accident claims. They can guide through the process of filing claims, and the personal injury attorney will negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. You can expect the lawyer to take over from day one, and the first meeting with them is always free. Your personal injury attorney can give you a fair idea of what to expect in compensation, and you can expect them to handle the entire paperwork. They will also guide you on the dos and don’ts, and as needed, they will also do their part of the investigation process. The good news is most car accident lawyers work on a contingency basis, which is an advantage, so you can expect them to only ask for money if they win a settlement for you.
Check online for reputed personal injury attorneys in Colorado and ensure that they have enough experience with car accident claims. A good lawyer can ensure that your claim gets the due attention.
Lisa Eclesworth is a notable and influential lifestyle writer. She is a mom of two and a successful homemaker. She loves to cook and create beautiful projects with her family. She writes informative and fun articles that her readers love and enjoy.