In 2018, Arizona saw over 4,500 alcohol-related car crashes. Being the 5th biggest city in Arizona, Scottsdale accounted for many of the DUI cases during that period.
You might look forward to enjoying your quality time at the bars and pubs on the N Goldwater Blvd and E Indian School Rd. But as you get high, you might get into trouble with DUI allegations.
It is best to engage a Scottsdale DUI attorney in such cases, as Arizona has some of the strictest DUI laws in the nation. Here’s what you should know about DUI charges in Scottsdale while lawyering up for your DUI case.
Arizona DUI Laws
Scottsdale distinguishes four intoxicated driving levels, with well-defined penalties.
For blood alcohol levels of 0.01 to 0.08, if you are under 21, you can face a DUI conviction. A range of 0.08 to 0.149 will lead to DUI charges, and 0.15 and above amounts to a case of extreme DUI. However, for a super extreme DUI allegation, your BAC should be 0.2 or greater.
DUI, A Felony in Scottsdale
With 25% of traffic deaths involving alcohol, Scottsdale is no exception when it comes to DUI cases.
Extreme and aggravated DUI charges, with a blood alcohol level of 0.15% and above, are felony crimes in Scottsdale. If convicted, you could get a punishment of 12 months or more in state prison and hefty fines. Due to the seriousness of the charges, only an experienced Scottsdale DUI attorney can help you negotiate your felony DUI charge down to a misdemeanor.
Types of DUI
Scottsdale made over 2,000 DUI arrests, accounting for about 7% of the total 29,000 DUI arrests reported to the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.
Aggravated DUI charges apply if you drive with a suspended license, have a minor younger than 15 in the car, or your driving caused property damage. You could face penalties ranging from three months jail term to 15 years in prison, fines, and mandatory alcohol screening at classes.
The marijuana DUI includes ARS 1381(A)(1) for Impaired to the Slightest Degree and ARS 1381(A)(3) for Drug DUI. The possible sentence ranges from 6 months imprisonment, $2,000 to $5,000 in fines, and higher insurance premiums.
An adept lawyer will review your case to identify the DUI charges and build a solid defense on the same lines.
Though a few years ago, Scottsdale ranked 5th in the state for DUI arrests, skilled attorneys can assess your case for the right circumstances that will bolster your defense.
Some of the top DUI defenses include violation of the right to counsel, inaccurate breath test reading, and no probable cause of arrest.
Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) Hearing
Scottsdale made about 2,500 DUI arrests in the first half of this decade. Typically, such arrests begin with a chemical test, and if you refuse to consent, Arizona’s MVD will suspend your license for 12 months.
Your attorney will suggest an alternative like an MVD hearing like pursue Administrative Per Se, Implied Consent, or Negligent Operator Hearing to avoid the automatic license suspension.
Last year, Scottsdale saw an uptick in DUIs in the area around the TPC Scottsdale golf course, with 11 DUI arrests within three miles of TPC, during the tournament schedule. An experienced DUI attorney is your best solution to avoid a conviction for your DUI charges and to reduce your sentence to a bare minimum in the worst-case scenario.
Margherita Ceresa an enthusiastic editor and writer at ExtraLargeAsLife.com. She has worked with many publications as a senior editor. Known for her incredible passion for everything new, she is a champion of celebrity news & lifestyle writing.